Skip to main content

The Task Force on U.S.-China Policy

The Task Force on U.S.-China Policy is a group of China specialists from around the United States convened by Asia Society’s Center on U.S.-China Relations and UC San Diego’s 21st Century China Center. It was first established in the fall of 2015 to reexamine the U.S.-China relationship in an increasingly uncertain time and offered up a set of recommendations to the incoming Trump administration in its 2017 report, “U.S. Policy Toward China: Recommendations for a New Administration.” It was followed by “Course Correction: Toward an Effective and Sustainable China Policy” and formation of sub-committees to examine areas such as science and technology dimensions of U.S.-China competition and China-European relations.

Taskforce Members & Press Coverage


Orville Schell, Arthur Ross Director of the Center on U.S.-China Relations, Asia Society

Susan L. Shirk, chair of the 21st Century China Center and research professor, UC San Diego School of Global Policy and Strategy


Charlene Barshefsky, senior international partner, WilmerHale

Kurt M. Campbell, chairman and chief executive officer, The Asia Group, LLC

Jessica Chen Weiss, associate professor of Government, Cornell University

Thomas J. Christensen, professor and director of the China and the World Program, Columbia University

Elizabeth C. Economy, C.V. Starr Senior Fellow and director for Asia Studies, Council on Foreign Relations

Karl Eikenberry, former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan and Lieutenant General, U.S. Army (retired)

Taylor Fravel, Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science, MIT

Paul Gewirtz, Potter Stewart Professor of Constitutional Law; Director of Paul Tsai China Center, Yale Law School

Yasheng Huang, Epoch Foundation Professor of International Management, MIT

Arthur R. Kroeber, head of research at Gavekal

Winston Lord, U.S. ambassador to China (1985- 1989); assistant secretary of state for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (1993 to 1997)

Evan S. Medeiros, Penner Family Chair in Asia Studies, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Andrew J. Nathan, Class of 1919 Professor of Political Science, Columbia University

Barry Naughton, Sokwanlok Chair of Chinese International Affairs at the School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego

Daniel H. Rosen, founding partner, Rhodium Group

David Shambaugh, Gaston Sigur Professor and director of the China Policy Program, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University