The center is a true global society of scholars, staff and community partners dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through education and research. Meet the Visiting Scholars, China Leardership Board, San Diego Advisory Council and Staff.


With the largest cluster of scholars focusing on contemporary China in the U.S., the 21st Century China Center is an important hub for policy research, education and outreach on contemporary China. The center is also supported by affiliated scholars from the School and UC San Diego who carry out important research on China and actively participate in projects and initiatives.

Core Faculty

  • Tai Ming Cheung

    Tai Ming Cheung

    Director, Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation
    Professor, GPS, UC San Diego

  • Michael Davidson

    Michael Davidson

    Assistant Professor, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Karl Gerth

    Karl Gerth

    Hwei-Chih and Julia Hsiu Professor of History, UC San Diego
  • Lei Guang

    Lei Guang

    Director, 21st Century China Center, GPS, UC San Diego
    Professor of Political Science, San Diego State University
  • Ruixue Jia

    Ruixue Jia

    Assistant Professor of Economics, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Ping-hui Liao

    Ping-hui Liao

    Professor of Literary and Critical Studies and Chuan Lyu Endowed Chair in Taiwan Studies, UC San Diego
  • Lei Liang

    Lei Liang

    Professor of Music, UC San Diego
  • Richard Madsen

    Richard Madsen

    Director, Fudan-UC Center on Contemporary China
    Distinguished Professor of Sociology, UC San Diego
  • David Michael

    David Michael

    Professor of Practice, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Micah Muscolino

    Micah Muscolino

    Professor and Paul G. Pickowicz Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History, UC San Diego
  • Barry Naughton

    Barry Naughton

    Sokwanlok Professor of Chinese International Affairs, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Kwai Ng

    Kwai Ng

    Associate Professor of Sociology, UC San Diego
  • Paul Pickowicz

    Paul Pickowicz

    Distinguished Professor of History and Chinese Studies, UC San Diego
  • Margaret Roberts

    Margaret Roberts

    Assistant Professor of Political Science, UC San Diego
  • Kuiyi Shen

    Kuiyi Shen

    Director, Chinese Studies Program
    Professor of Art History, UC San Diego
  • Victor Shih

    Victor Shih

    Ho Miu Lam Chair in China and Pacific Relations, Associate Professor of Political Science, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Susan Shirk

    Susan Shirk

    Chair, 21st Century China Center, GPS, UC San Diego
    Research Professor, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Weiyi Shi

    Weiyi Shi

    Assistant Professor, GPS, UC San Diego
  • Yingjin Zhang

    Yingjin Zhang

    Distinguished Professor of Modern Chinese Literature and Chair, Department of Literature, UC San Diego

Affiliated Faculty

  • Peter Cowhey

    Peter Cowhey

    Dean and Qualcomm Endowed Chair in Communications and Technology Policy, UC San Diego
  • Joshua Graff Zivin

    Joshua Graff Zivin

    Professor and Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs
    School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego
  • Stephan Haggard

    Stephan Haggard

    Lawrence and Sallye Krause Professor of Korea-Pacific Studies; Director, Korea-Pacific Program
    School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego
  • Gordon Hanson

    Gordon Hanson

    Acting Dean and Pacific Economic Cooperation Chair in International Economic Relations; Director, Center on Global Transformation
    School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego
  • Megumi Naoi

    Megumi Naoi

    Assistant Professor of Political Science, UC San Diego
  • David Victor

    David Victor

    Professor; Co-director, Laboratory on International Law and Regulation
    School of Global Policy and Strategy, UC San Diego